We try to identify acronyms and abbreviations that aren’t in the standard nephrology vocabulary as we go, but if you’re new to nephrology or to our Networks, you may find one you don’t recognize, so we’ve added the list below.  If you encounter an acronynm or abbreviation that you don’t recognize and that’s not on this list, please click on “Leave a Comment” and let us know, and we’ll add it to the list.

2728 – CMS Medical Evidence Form
2744 – CMS Annual Facility Survey Form
2746 – CMS Certificate of Death

AAKP – American Association of Kidney Patients
AAPM – MACRA Advanced Alternative Payment Model
ABIM – American Board of Internal Medicine
ADA – Americans with Disabilities Act
ADC – University of Missouri Division of Nephrology Annual Dialysis Conference
AFDT – American Foundation for Donation and Transplantation
AHRQ – HHS Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
AK – Alaska
AKF – American Kidney Fund
AKI – Acute Kidney Injury
AMR – Antimicrobial Resistance
ANNA – American Nephrology Nurses’ Association
APF – CCCC Advamce Planning Forum
APM – MACRA Alternative Payment Model
APIC – Association for Professionals in Infection Control and Epidemiology
AR – Antibiotic Resistance
AST – American Society of Transplantation
ASTS – American Society of Transplant Surgeons

BONENT – Board of Nephrology Examiners Nursing and Technology
BSI – Bloodstream Infection

CADialysis – California Dialysis Council (also CDC)
CAHPS – Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers and Systems
CAUTI – Catheter-Associated Urinary Tract Infection
CCCC – Coalition for Compassionate Care of California
CDC – US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (see also CADialysis)
C.diff – Clostridium difficile
CDR – Commission on Dietetic Registration
CE – Continuing Education
CKD – Chronic Kidney Disease
CKDopps – Chronic Kidney Disease Outcomes and Practice Patterns Study
CLABSI – Central Line-Associated Bloodstream Infection
CLAS – Culturally and Linguistically Appropriate Services
CMS – Center for Medicare & Medicaid Services
CNSW – NKF Council of Nephrology Social Workers
CRE – Carbapenem Resistant Enterococcus bacteria
CRN – NKF Council on Renal Nutrition
CY – QIP Calendar Year

DE – NHSN Dialysis Event
DFC – CMS Dialysis Facility Compare
DFR – CMS Dialysis Facility Reports
DOH – Department of Health
DOPPS – Dialysis Outcomes and Practice Patterns Study

ECE – CMS Disaster Extension/Exception Request Form
ED – Emergency Department
EHR – Electronic Health Records
EIDM – Enterprise IDentity Management
EOL – End of Life
EQRS – ESRD Quality Reporting System
ER – Emergency Room
ESRD – End Stage Renal Disease (Stage 5)

FAQ – Frequently Asked Questions
FDA – US Food and Drug Association
Forum – Forum of ESRD Networks
FPOC – ESRD QIP Facility Point of Contact

HAI – Healthcare-Acquired Infection
HAN – CDC Health Alert Network
HCC – Health Care (Emergency Response) Coalition
HCV – Hepatitis C Virus
HD – Hemodialysis
HDC – Home Dialysis Central
HDU – Home Dialyzors United
HHD – Home Hemodialysis
HICN – CMS Health Insurance Claim Number
HIPAA – Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act
HIPP – AKF Health Insurance Premium Program

ICH – In-Center Hemodialysis
ID – Idaho
IHI – Institute for Healthcare Improvement
IMPACT – Improving Medicare Post-Acute Care Transformation Act of 2014
IPD – In-Center Peritoneal Dialysis
ISHD – International Society for Hemodialysis

JAN – US Dept of Labor Office of Disability Employment Policy Job Accommodation Network

KCER – Kidney Community Emergency Response Coalition
KDIGO – Kidney Disease: Improving Global Outcomes
KECC – University of Michigan Kidney Epidemiology and Cost Center

LAN – Learning and Action Network

MAC – ESRD Forum Medical Advisory Council
MACRA – Medicare Access and CHIP Reauthorization Act of 2015
MAH – Master Account Holder
MBD – Mineral and Bone Disease
MBI – Medicare Beneficiary Identifier
MEI – Medical Education Institute
MIPS – MACRA Merit-based Incentive Payment System
MLN – Medicare Learning Network
MMWR – CDC Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report
MOC – ABIM Maintenance of Certification
MRSA – Methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus bacteria
MSSP – Medicare Shared Savings Program
MT – Montana

NAACP – National Association for the Advancement of Colored People
NANT – National Association of Nephrology Technicians
NASW – National Association of Social Workers
NCC – ESRD National Coordinating Center
NDEP – CDC National Diabetes Education Program
NFPA – National Fire Protection Association
NHPCO – National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization
NHSN – CDC National Healthcare Safety Network
NIDDK – NIH National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases
NIH – National Institutes of Health
NIST – National Institute of Standards and Technology
NKDEP – NIH National Kidney Disease Education Program
NKF – National Kidney Foundation
NPSF – National Patient Safety Foundation
NRAA – National Renal Administrators Association
NW – Northwest (Washington, Oregon, Idaho, Montana, Alaska), Network 16
NWRD – Northwest Renal Dietitians

OCR – HHS Office for Civil Rights
OCT – CW Outreach, Communication, and Training
ODF – CMS Open Door Forum conference call
ONC – HHS Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology
OPO – Organ Procurement Organizations
OPSC – Oregon Patient Safety Commission
OPTN – Organ Procurement and Transplantation Network
OR – Oregon

PAC – Patient Advisory Committee
PART – CW Patient Attributes and Related Treatments
PBC – Positive Blood Culture
PD – Peritoneal Dialysis
PERC – NKF Professional Education Resource Center
PFA – Patient Family Advisor
PFCC – Patient & Family Centered Care
PFS – Medicare Physician Fee Schedule
PHI – Protected health information
PII – Personally identifiable information
PKD – Polycystic Kidney Disease
PKG – NKF Portland Kidney Group
POLST – Physician Orders for Life-Sustaining Treatment
PPS – CMS Prospective Payment System
PSC – QIP Performance Score Certificate
PSR – QIP Performance Score Report
PY – QIP Payment Year

QARM – QualityNet Account and Role Management
QDFC – Quarterly DFC
QI – Quality Improvement
QIMS – CW QualityNet Identity Management System
QIN – Quality Improvement Network
QIO – Quality Improvement Organization
QIP – CMS Quality Incentive Program
QIP100 – CMS QIP 1.0.0 software
QPP – MACRA Quality Payment Program

RN – Registered Nurse
RPA – Renal Physicians Association
RSN – Renal Support Network

SBIRT – Screening, Brief Intervention, and Referral for Treatment
SC – Southern California, Network 18
SCM – NKF Spring Clinical Meetings
SG – Support Group
SHIP – State Health Insurance Assistance Program
SHR – Standardized Hospitalization Ratio
SIR – Standardized Infection (BSI) Ratio
SME – Subject Matter Expert
SMR – Standardized Mortality Ratio
SRR – Standardized Readmission Ratio
SRTR Scientific Registry of Transplant Recipients
SSN – Social Security Number
SSNRI – CMS SSN Removal Initiative
SSP – Medicare Shared Savings Program
STrR – Standardized Transfusion Ratio

TEP – Technical Expert Panel
TPS – QIP Total Performance Score

UCLA – University of California at Los Angeles
UCSF – University of California at San Francisco
UKEEP – UCLA Kidney Education Enhancement Program
UM-KECC – University of Michigan Kidney Epidemiology and Cost Center
UMKC – University of Missouri Kansas City
UNOS – United Network for Organ Sharing
UTI – Urinary Tract Infection

VA – Vascular Access or US Department of Veterans Affairs
VRE – Vancomycin-Resistant Enterococcus bacteria
VRSA – Vancomycin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus bacteria

WA – Washington